Skip to content

Rooftop Perspective

The first day at a new school or job is always intimidating and can sometimes feel overwhelming; however, this was not the case at Roofmeadow. Immediately, it was evident how welcoming and accommodating this company is, and throughout my month here, this never changed. No matter how busy they were, people in the office were always there to offer help and answer my questions.

My name is Emily Tatum and I am in 12th grade at  Moorestown Friends School. I am interested in environmental policy and sustainability and am planning on pursuing both at Johns Hopkins next year. All Moorestown Friends seniors must complete an internship for the month of May, so I chose Roofmeadow due to my interest in sustainability and horticulture. Over the course of my month at Roofmeadow, I worked on several tasks. First, I gathered horticultural information such as light requirements and hardiness level for a comprehensive green roof plant list. Later, I found and compiled images of plants for Roofmeadow’s CHOP and the Perelman Center green roofs. One day, I worked with Jane, Roofmeadow’s Director of Stewardship, to create a Maintenance Manual.

IMG_20150520_130941407

Skylight and Aquilegia canandensis pictured at the University of Pennsylvania Law roof garden | Photo by Emily Tatum

Towards the end of my internship, Roofmeadow hired a professional photographer to photograph their rooftop garden on the University of Pennsylvania’s Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology in Philadelphia. The day of the photoshoot my internship supervisor, Lauren, Roofmeadow Project Manager, took me to see and walk around several rooftop gardens in Philadelphia, such as those at the Radian, University of Pennsylvania Law, and CHOP. We were unable to walk through CHOP, since it is still under construction, but the other two are mature roofscapes that are open to the public. UPenn Law is one of my favorite roof gardens. With benches, views to the building’s interior, and triangular skylights that provide natural light to the underlying building, this was a spectacular garden.

University of Pennsylvania Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology

University of Pennsylvania Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology | Photo by Emily Tatum

We then went to Krishna, and both the garden and building were beautiful. We identified plants such as the Aquilegia canadensis, and then Lauren, Jane, and I posed for lifestyle pictures at different spots around the rooftop. The photos will be used for marketing purposes, such as award submissions and Roofmeadow’s website.

Aquilegia canadensis at the University of Pennsylvania Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology.

Aquilegia canadensis at the University of Pennsylvania Krishna P. Singh Center for Nanotechnology | Photo by Emily Tatum

I am so grateful for my internship and experience at Roofmeadow, because I learned so much about plants, rooftop gardens, and how a business is run. Everyone was kind and supportive through my month here, and I couldn’t have asked for a better internship.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

